The Intervarsity Rogaining Championship is usually held in conjunction with the Australian Rogaining Championship, or if dates are not suitable, a nominated State Championship.

To participate in the Australian Intervarsity Rogaining Championship, students must be enrolled at a tertiary education institution recognised by Australian University Sports (AUS)1.

Teams consist of 2-5 students from the same institution. Both part-time and full-time students are eligible. There is no age restriction: under-graduate, mature age and post-graduate students qualify.

The Intervarsity rogaining competition began in 1969 and from 1981 was coordinated by the Australian Rogaining Association.

The Nigel Aylott Memorial Sports Foundation (NAMSF) sponsored the re-establishment of the Intervarsity competition in 2007. NAMSF has provided a perpetual trophy for the winning Intervarsity team named 'The Nigel Aylott trophy'.

The Foundation has in the past paid the travel costs for one university team from each state so that there can be a well-represented national competition.

State Rogaining Associations are responsible for determining their own selection criteria for the NAMSF subsidies (such as a single qualifying event, or a cumulative point score from multiple events, whether 24 hour or shorter qualifying events). However, for the purposes of the subsidy, preference must be given to under-graduate full time students. Entrants should contact their state rogaining association as soon as possible for details about their selection process for the state representative team.

1. Eligible tertiary courses are: (1) University degrees, or (2) technical and further education (TAFE) diploma/certificates.